Board of Directors

The Board's primary responsibility is to oversee the purpose, plans and policies of Innovation Saskatchewan.

Honourable Tina Beaudry-Mellor (Chair)

Honourable Tina Beaudry-Mellor (Chair)

Minister Responsible for Innovation

Tina Beaudry-Mellor was elected the MLA for Regina University on April 4, 2016.  On February 2, 2018, Tina was appointed as Minister of Advanced Education, Minister responsible for Innovation Saskatchewan, and reappointed as the Minister responsible for the Status of Women. Previously, she served as the Minister of Social Services.

Best known as a long time instructor in the Department of Politics and International Studies at the University of Regina, Tina has published in everything from peer reviewed journals to op-eds and business magazines, commentating both on political & social issues.

Tina is the former Chair of Equal Voice and served on the National Board. She is also a former board member of the Saskatchewan Arts Board, the Community Investments Committee of the United Way and the Regina Transition House. At the University of Regina, she served on the Community Research Unit board of the Faculty of Arts.

In addition to her academic work, Tina is the owner of a small management consulting business called TBM Strategies where she has done considerable policy work, most notably on streamlining processes for clients of both the Saskatchewan Immigrant Nominee program and on the Saskatchewan Surgical Initiative to reduce surgical wait times. She has also worked with the Continuing Education Centre of the University of Regina to write the Flexible Learning Strategy to build the institution's online, televised and blended course and program offerings for students.

Tina is married and has two very active teenage twins, Kayman and Montana.

Honourable Jeremy Harrison (Vice-Chair)

Honourable Jeremy Harrison (Vice-Chair)

Minister of Export and Trade Development and Minister of Immigration and Careers Training

Jeremy Harrison grew up in the Meadow Lake area and graduated from Carpenter High School in 1996. Jeremy went on to complete an undergraduate degree in Political Science and Canadian History from the University of Alberta, a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from the Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy, and a Juris Doctor (Law) Degree from the University of Saskatchewan.

Jeremy was elected to Parliament on June 28, 2004, and at the age of 26 became one of the youngest Canadians ever to sit in the House of Commons. Jeremy was elected to the Saskatchewan Legislature in November 2007. He is the youngest Canadian ever to have been elected to both the House of Commons and a provincial Legislative Assembly.

He first served as Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Energy and Resources until being appointed to Cabinet in May of 2009. He has served as the Minister of Municipal Affairs, Minister of Enterprise Saskatchewan, Government House Leader, and Minister Responsible for Immigration, Jobs, Skills and Training, Minister of the Economy, Minister responsible for the Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority, Minister responsible for the Global Transportation Hub, Minister responsible for Tourism Saskatchewan, Minister responsible for Innovation, and Minister responsible for Trade.

Jeremy has served as Vice-Chair of Treasury Board, Chair of the caucus Red Tape Reduction Committee, and sat on the cabinet Committee on Human Services. He has served as a Member of the Board of Internal Economy, the Standing Committee on House Services, and was previously the Deputy Government House Leader.

On February 2, 2018, Jeremy was appointed Minister of Export and Trade Development and Minister of Immigration and Careers Training.

Jeremy and his wife Alaina have one son, MacGregor and one daughter, Finnley.


Trevor Thiessen

Trevor Thiessen

President, Redekop Manufacturing

With an agriculture background spanning more than 20 years, Trevor Thiessen has been involved in marketing, sales, production, and research and development in many managerial positions. Trevor graduated from the U of S with a Masters in Business Administration and an undergraduate degree in Finance and Marketing.

Trevor's work in the agriculture industry spans North America, South America, Australia, Europe, and Asia. Prior to purchasing Redekop Manufacturing with his business partner in June of 2014, Trevor was President of Novozymes BioAg Group, overseeing all aspects of the BioAg business for Novozymes worldwide. 

Trevor currently serves on the boards of a number of private and non-profit organizations and is based in Saskatoon, SK, where he resides with his wife Kim and their two boys, Kohlburn and Parker.

Warren Steinley

Warren Steinley

MLA, Regina Walsh Acres

Warren Steinley was first elected in the constituency of Regina Walsh Acres in 2011. He was re-elected in 2016.

Warren grew up on a dairy farm near Rush Lake, Saskatchewan, and graduated with an Honours degree in Political Science from the University of Regina where he also co-founded the local Saskatchewan Party Campus Club.

After university, Warren completed an internship with the federal agriculture minister in Ottawa and then worked in the office of the Minister of Western Economic Diversification. Warren worked in the Saskatchewan public service within the Ministry of Executive Council as a Researcher. His last position before being elected was director of research for the government caucus.

In addition to his regular duties as MLA, Warren was elected Deputy Caucus Chair in July of 2014. Warren currently sits on the Assembly’s Private Bills Committee, the Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice Committee, and the caucus New Ideas Committee. He is also co-chair of the caucus Legislation and Regulation Review Committee and a member of the caucus Management Committee.

Warren and his wife Larissa have two young children, Nickson and Claire.­­

Pam Haidenger-Bains

Pam Haidenger-Bains

Pam Haidenger-Bains attended the University of Saskatchewan and received her Juris Doctorate from the College of Law. Pam was actively engaged in the practice of corporate-commercial law from 1978 to 2012, first in private practice and then as a Vice-President and Corporate Secretary in a health services biotech company. She has sat on and chaired a number of different boards during this time period. Pam is currently in the process of developing a new business focused on assisting corporations and individuals in improving strategic competencies in targeted areas of communications.

Pam is currently a member of the Innovation Place Management Advisory Committee, and a former chair and past director of the Saskatchewan Film and Video Corporation, and former chair and past director of Saskatoon Regional Economic Development Authority. She has also served as former president, executive Member and director of the Saskatchewan branch of the Canadian Bar Association, and former chair and member of the Legislative and Law Reform Committee.

Don Somers

Don Somers

Private Business, Consulting

As a former senior executive with a major Canadian mining company and Vice President of a western Canadian based company involved in the financing and management support of early stage companies commercializing environmental technologies, Dr. Don Somers brings an extensive business background to the Board.

Don has authored a number of scientific papers and continues to consult in the area of corporate governance, research and innovation, and science marketing and communication. In addition to his work in private business and consulting, he is involved with a number of community and provincial organizations.